Book Review: The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

Marie Kondo is a neat freak. Better still, she’s an excellent writer and can teach you a thing or two about tidying up your home. And tidying up doesn’t mean putting things where they usually belong or sticking them into cupboards where they’re no longer visible – it’s about letting go of every item in your home that doesn’t bring you “joy”.

In her book she tells her readers to pick up every item in their home (clothing, books, electronic gadgets, komonos, or, small miscellaneous items etc) and ask themselves,

“Does this bring me joy?”

If the answer is no, discard it.

Brutal? Yes, very. But her logic is elegant. If it doesn’t bring you joy, then it has no place in your cluttered home.

Decluttering is the first step to liberating the mind. Only when you have thoroughly gone through every item in your home, keeping only those items that bring you joy, and discarding absolutely everything else, have you truly tidied up. When you look around you and feel peace in your own space, you can truly focus on the things that matter, or on things that you’ve always wanted to do. She also boasts a zero rebound rate from her clients (yes, people actually hire her to help them clean up their homes!), because her method, coined the KonMari, is about tidying up once, all in one go, and never again.

Marie Kondo

Even her book is streamlined and only filled with essential information. No sentence is wasted. She prides herself as being a neat freak since the age of 5, reading her mom’s lifestyle magazines for inspiration. She was a little bossy cat, cleaning not only her own space but the rooms of her siblings and her parents’ living room, having a relentless dedication to discarding things. But her KonMari method didn’t come naturally – it appears it took her decades of refinement, pouring over every lifestyle magazine there was and trying out every storage method in vogue before she came up with her rather unique Zenist tidying theory.

It took me around 4 hours to speed read this book. After completing it I had much motivation to declutter my space and was filled with the courage to discard all those old clothes, photos and mementos that I’ve been holding on to dear life for a decade. Now if I can just get those out the door before my courage wanes…

Read it! You won’t regret it! It might even change your life.

Other book reviews:

16 comments on “Book Review: The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

  1. Pingback: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo | my messy world

    • It’s a quick read too 🙂 she really gives readers the courage to throw away stuff and reexamine their lives through their possessions. I think keeping mementos is normal, probably 80% of people are like us. Let me know how it goes!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 2 Easy Things We Can Do Now To Save Ourselves: Quitting Plastic | Pixie Dust Beach

  3. This is an excellent philosophy which I had picked up from the amount of moving that I’ve done in my life. People tend to clutter up their lives and hold (and hoard) things because it’s just the nature of the beast as they nest build.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well said, exactly what it is about people living and cluttering – the natural way of things. Amazing that you’ve already picked up this way of living! Must feel pretty free to not be bogged down by possessions

      Liked by 1 person

      • On the one side, it’s liberating. When the time comes that I need to move it can be done simply and efficiently.

        On the other? Well, sometimes I feel like I’ve missed out on the feelings of setting down roots like so many of my peers have done.

        Just one of the many “could have been” I sometime think about when I’m laying in bed ready to fall asleep.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Coulda woulda shoulda….You’re where you’re at for a reason. No one can have it all, no one can walk all paths. I understand that feeling, missing what you don’t have. Although your peers may be looking at you too and feeling the same way, missing that liberty you have which they don’t. I agree though, setting roots somewhere can keep one grounded.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Preachin’ to the Choir, ma’am. 😀 As I’m fond of telling people, “The universe puts us in places where we learn. They’re never easy places, but they are right. Wherever we are is the right place and the right time… The pain that sometimes comes is part of the process of constantly being reborn…” (Babylon 5)

          It’s still a whimsy I enjoy when passing out. After all, if I can’t live in in real life, one of those could have been moments can give me some interesting dreams.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, wow, this is really useful especially when discarding clothes! I have a lot of them that I feel miserable wearing, but I haven’t thrown them out “just in case” they magically fit me well one day. Instead, however, they just ended up being a waste of space. Thank you for sharing this book, Pixie! Hope you can do some decluttering soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve heard a lot about this book, now time to find it at the library (if available). As I move a lot I really don’t have a home to put unnecessary things and I’ve always try to think twice before making purchase of anything that needs storage 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s such a great approach – think twice, think think think before purchasing anything. I’m going to try that out. Moving does help one keep being lean about possessions!

      Like

Leave a Reply

